EU - Lithuania



Lithuania is a parliamentary republic with a head of government - the Prime Minister - and a head of state - the President - who appoints the Prime Minister.

The Parliament is a single-chamber legislative body. The country is divided into 60 municipalities, with directly-elected mayors.

There are 11 members of the European Parliament from Lithuania.

Lithuania joined the EU on 1 May 2004 - and the euro area on 1 January 2015.

Få uppdateringar om detta ämne

Registrera dig för att bli meddelad när nya medier läggs till

Hur vill du ta emot uppdateringar?