Election of the President of the European Parliament

Election of the President of the European Parliament



MEPs elected Roberta Metsola (EPP, MT) on January 2022 as President of the European Parliament until 2024. Roberta Metsola won the election in the first voting round, where she received an absolute majority of 458 votes out of 690 cast in the remote secret vote, among three candidates. 

President Metsola is leading the Parliament in the second half of the current legislative term, until a new Parliament is constituted following the 2024 European Elections. Born in Malta in 1979,  Roberta Metsola who has been an MEP since 2013, is the youngest EP President ever elected.

She became First Vice-President in November 2020, and was Parliament’s acting President after President Sassoli passed away on 11 January 2022. She is the third female President of the European Parliament, after Simone Veil (1979-1982) and Nicole Fontaine (1999- 2002).

Ontvang updates over dit onderwerp

Meld je aan om op de hoogte te worden gehouden wanneer er nieuwe media worden toegevoegd

Hoe wilt u updates ontvangen?