Election of the President of the European Parliament

2024-05-22T10:03:00.000ZMis à jour


During 17-20 January 2022 plenary session in Strasbourg, MEPs elected their President, 14 Vice-Presidents and five Quaestors. New EP President Roberta Metsola won the election in the first voting round, where she received an absolute majority of 458 votes out of 690 cast in the remote secret vote. Roberta Metsola who has been an MEP since 2013, is the youngest EP President ever elected. She became First Vice-President in November 2020, and was Parliament’s acting President after President Sassoli passed away on 11 January. She is the third female President of the European Parliament, after Simone Veil (1979-1982) and Nicole Fontaine (1999- 2002).The other candidates were Alice Kuhnke and Sira Rego. Due to the pandemic, the vote was held remotely. Appointments to parliamentary committees for the rest of this legislative term will also be confirmed during the upcoming plenary session.

Recevez des mises à jour sur ce sujet

Inscrivez-vous pour être informé lorsque de nouveaux médias sont ajoutés

Comment souhaitez-vous recevoir des mises à jour?