EU - Latvia

EU - Latvia



Latvia joined the European Union on 1 May 2004 and has been a member of the Schengen area since 21 December 2007. It became a member of the Euro area on 1 January 2014.

Latvia is a parliamentary republic with a head of government - the Prime Minister - who chooses the council of ministers and a head of state - the President - who has a largely ceremonial role and nominates the Prime Minister.

The government is subject to Parliament's approval throughout each term.

The country is subdivided into 110 one-level municipalities and 9 cities. These each have their own city councils and municipal administrations.

There are 8 Members of the European Parliament from Latvia.

Erhalten Sie Updates zu diesem Thema

Melden Sie sich an, um benachrichtigt zu werden, wenn neue Medien hinzugefügt werden

Wie möchten Sie Updates erhalten?