EU - Austria



Austria has been an EU Member since 1st January 1995. Austria is a federal parliamentary republic with a head of government - the chancellor - and a head of state - the president.

Austria ihas also been a member of the Euro area since 1 January 1999 and a member of Schengen since December 1997.

There are 19 members of the European Parliament from Austria. The country held the EU Presidency in 1998, 2006 and 2018.

Austria consists of 9 states (Bundesländer). Both regional and federal governments exercise executive power. The federal Parliament consists of 2 chambers: the Lower House (Nationalrat) - directly elected - and the Upper House (Bundesrat) - elected by regional parliaments.

Obdržíte aktualizace k této tématu

Přihlaste se, abyste byli upozorněni, když budou přidány nová média

Jak si přejete přijímat aktualizace?