Skip to content

The Schuman Declaration - 9 May 1950

Pasākuma datums: 09/05/1950

Materiāla izmantošanas iespējas

The Schuman Declaration was presented by French Foreign minister Robert Schuman on 9 May 1950 in Paris . "Europe will not be made all at once, or according to a single plan. It will be built through concrete achievements which first create a de facto solidarity". It proposed the creation of a European Coal and Steel Community, whose members would pool coal and steel production. The ECSC was an organisation of six European countries created to regulate their industrial production under a centralised authority. It was formally established in 1951 by the Treaty of Paris, signed by Belgium, France, Italy, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, and West Germany. The ECSC started the process of formal integration which ultimately led to the European Union.