Sakharov Prize: European Parliament’s award for human rights defenders


Every year since 1988 Members of the European Parliament have honoured human rights defenders with the Sakharov Prize for Freedom of Thought. Nelson Mandela, Malala and Denis Mukwege have been among the laureates of the most prestigious EU human rights prize, named in honour of Russian dissident Andrei Sakharov.

Related media