Sakharov Prize 2017: presentation of the candidates

Datum događanja: 02/10/2017

Način preuzimanja

During the joint meeting of the Committees on Foreign Affairs (AFET), Development (DEVE) and Subcommittee on Human Rights (DROI) in Strasbourg, Political group members present the six nominees for the 2017 Sakharov Prize. The 29th Sakharov Prize will be awarded during the plenary session on 13 December. The nominees for 2017 Sakharov Prize for Freedom of Thought are Asia Bibi (Aasiya Noreen), Aura Lolita Chavez Ixcaquic, Selahattin Demirtas and Figen Yuksekdag, Democratic Opposition in Venezuela, Dawit Isaak and Pierre Claver Mbonimpa. They are presented by Anna Elzbieta FOTYGA (ECR, PL), Molly SCOTT CATO (Grenns/EFA, UK), Florent MARCELLESI (Greens/EFA, ES), Marie-Christine VERGIAT (GUE/NGL, FR), Jose Ignacio SALAFRANCA SANCHEZ-NEYRA (EPP, ES), Beatriz BECERRA BASTERRECHEA (ALDE, ES), Elena VALENCIANO (S&D, ES), Cecilia WIKSTROM (ALDE, SE) and Fabio Massimo CASTALDO (EFDD, IT).