Skip to content

Schengen area

Date de l'événement: 11/06/2020

Schengen area

The EU's passport-free travel space, known as the Schengen area, is one of the most tangible achievements of European integration. The Schengen area is one of the pillars of the European project.

Since its creation in 1995, when passport controls were abolished inside this zone, EU citizens enjoy the right to freedom of movement. This means that they can live, study, work and retire anywhere in the EU. Tourists and businesses also benefit from these rights. Schengen includes 26 countries: 22 from the EU and four from outside: Iceland, Norway, Switzerland and Liechtenstein.

Fil d’actualités

During the plenary session (17-19 June 2020) in Brussels, MEPs discuss the situation in the Schengen area following the Covid-19 outbreak.

Afficher uniquement les médias connexes.


Image Gallery. Number of images: : 0

Belgo-Luxembourg Border

Banque d'images  -  13/10/2012