Aller au contenu principal
Schuman Declaration - 9 May 1950

Schuman Declaration - 9 May 1950


The Schuman Declaration was presented by French foreign minister Robert Schuman on 9 May 1950.

It proposed the creation of a European Coal and Steel Community, whose members would pool coal and steel production.
The ECSC (founding members: France, West Germany, Italy, the Netherlands, Belgium and Luxembourg) was the first of a series of supranational European institutions that would ultimately become today's "European Union".
​​​​​​​On 9 May 1950, the Salon de l’Horloge in the French Ministry of Foreign Affairs building on Quai d’Orsay in Paris was transformed into a press room and Robert Schuman gave his speech. Since 1985, Europe Day has been celebrated on 9 May every year.

Related links


Date de l'événement05/01/2022