Skip to main content
Appointment of the President of the ECB

Appointment of the President of the ECB



The President is appointed by the European Council, while the European Parliament and the Bank’s Governing Council are consulted.

Prior to the vote, the candidate will receive a series of questions for written answer, and be invited to a hearing before the Economic and Monetary Affairs Committee (ECON). The ECB President is a key figure within the Eurosystem when setting monetary policy for the euro area.

The Presidents were Alexandre Lamfalussy (1994-1997), founding president of the EMI, forerunner of the ECB, Wim Duisenberg (1998-2004), Jean-Claude Trichet (2004-2011) and Mario Draghi (2011-)