Skip to content

Sakharov Prize 2019: extracts from the announcement of the laureate by David SASSOLI, EP President

Sündmuse kuupäev: 24/10/2019


Following a decision by Parliament’s Conference of Presidents, David SASSOLI, EP President, announces the winner of the Sakharov Prize for Freedom of Thought 2019 during the award ceremony in the European Parliament in Strasbourg. The winner is Ilham TOHTI, an Uyghur economist fighting for the rights of China’s Uyghur minority. He was sentenced to life imprisonment on separatism-related charges in 2014. He remains a voice of moderation and reconciliation.

Küpsiste haldamine Euroopa Parlamendi saidil

Sellel veebisaidil kasutatakse küpsiseid. Kui nõustute küpsiste kasutamisega, on navigeerimiskiirus optimaalne.