Skip to content

EU - Portugal

Sündmuse kuupäev: 05/03/2018

EU - Portugal

Portugal entered the European Economic Community on 1 January 1986, together with Spain. In the following years the economy of the Portugal progressed considerably as a result of the EU structural and cohesion funds.

On 1 December 2009, the Treaty of Lisbon, signed by European Member States on 13 December 2007 in the Jeronimos Monastery in Lisbon, entered into force.
Portugal has 21 MEPs in the EP and has 12 votes in the European Council.

Uudiste ajalugu

Ahead the plenary session (18-21 January 2021), David SASSOLI, EP president meets with Antonio COSTA, Portuguese Prime Minister and President in office of the Council of the EU, in the European Parliament in Brussels.

Antonio TAJANI, EP President, pays a visit to Lisbon, Portugal.

António Costa, Portuguese Prime Minister, gives a speech on the Future of Europe during the plenary session in Strasbourg.

Antonio TAJANI, EP President, meets with Marcelo REBELO de SOUSA, President of Portugal.