Skip to content

EU - Latvia

Fecha de la noticia: 11/04/2018

EU - Latvia

Latvia joined the European Union 1st January 2014 and it has been a member of the Schengen area since 21st December 2017.

Latvia is a parliamentary republic with a head of government - the Prime Minister - who chooses the council of ministers and a head of state - the President - who has a largely ceremonial role and nominates the prime minister. The government remains subject to Parliament's approval throughout each term. The country is subdivided into 110 one-level municipalities and 9 cities. These have their own city councils and municipal administrations.

There are 8 members of the European Parliament from Latvia.

Historial de noticias

La gestión de las cookies en el sitio del Parlamento Europeo

Este sitio web utiliza cookies. Si acepta las cookies podrá disfrutar de una experiencia óptima de navegación.