Skip to main content

Vote on a shortlist of 3 candidates for the Sakharov Prize for Freedom of Thought 2019: statement by David McALLISTER (EPP, DE), Chair of AFET Committee


In the European Parliament in Brussesls, Foreign Affairs and Development committees, together with the Human Rights Subcommittee, vote to shortlist the three finalists for the 2019 Sakharov Prize for Freedom of Thought. David McALLISTER (EPP, DE), Chair of AFET Committee, announces the three candidates in alphabetical order are: firstly Marielle Franco, Chief Raoni and Claudelice Silva dos Santos, voices for human rights and protection of the environment; the Restorers; and Ilham Tohti. The final laureate will be chosen by the Conference of Presidents on 24 October and announced in plenary by President David SASSOLI immediately after.


Event date08/10/2019
Format:16:9 format
Copyright:© European Union