Skip to content

Schuman Declaration - 9 May 1950

Event date: 08/04/2020

Schuman Declaration - 9 May 1950

The Schuman Declaration was presented by French foreign minister Robert Schuman on 9 May 1950.

It proposed the creation of a European Coal and Steel Community, whose members would pool coal and steel production.
The ECSC (founding members: France, West Germany, Italy, the Netherlands, Belgium and Luxembourg) was the first of a series of supranational European institutions that would ultimately become today's "European Union".
​​​​​​​On 9 May 1950, the Salon de l’Horloge in the French Ministry of Foreign Affairs building on Quai d’Orsay in Paris was transformed into a press room and Robert Schuman gave his speech. Since 1985, Europe Day has been celebrated on 9 May every year.

News history

During the plenary session (13-16/05/2020) in Brussels, MEPs debate on the 70th anniversary of the Schuman Declaration.

Robert Schuman participates in the signature ceremony in July 1952

The Treaty of Paris establishing the European Coal and Steel Community (ECSC) was signed in Paris by Belgium, France, Italy, the Federal Republic of Germany, Luxembourg and the Netherlands

At 18:00, in Paris, Robert Schuman, French Minister for Foreign Affairs, makes a declaration which marked the beginning of the process of building the European Community.