Skip to content

Sakharov Prize 2017

Event date: 27/11/2017

Sakharov Prize 2017

The Sakharov Prize for Freedom of Thought, named in honour of the Soviet physicist and political dissident Andrei Sakharov, is awarded each year by the European Parliament. It was set up in 1988 to honour individuals and organisations defending human rights and fundamental freedoms.

Each nominee must have the support of at least 40 MEPs, and each individual Member may support only one nominee. Signed nominations accompanied by supporting evidence are then assessed in a joint meeting of the Committee on Foreign Affairs (AFET), the Subcommittee on Human Rights (DROI) and the Committee on Development (DEVE). A shortlist of three candidates is drawn up through a vote by AFET and DEVE committees, and then submitted to the Conference of Presidents for a final vote. The winner is usually announced in October, and the award ceremony takes place in November/December at plenary sitting in Strasbourg.

News history

The democratic opposition in Venezuela including the country's National Assembly (Julio Borges, Speaker) and all political prisoners as listed by Foro Penal Venezolano, represented by Leopoldo López, Antonio Ledezma, Daniel Ceballos, Yon Goicoechea, Lorent Saleh, Alfredo Ramos and Andrea González, will all, either in person or through representatives, be presented and receive the European Parliament’s Sakharov Prize for Freedom of Thought.

The winner of the 2017 Sakharov Prize is decided by European Parliament President Antonio Tajani and political group leaders and announced by Mr Tajani in plenary session on Thursday.

Sakharov Prize 2017: finalists revealed - Aura Lolita Chavez Ixcaquic, Democratic Opposition in Venezuela and Dawit Isaak shortlisted for Sakharov Prize 2017.

Sakharov Prize 2017: presentation of the candidates in the EP Committees on Foreign Affairs, Development and Subcommittee on Human Rights

Managing cookies on Parliament's website

This site uses cookies. By accepting cookies you can optimise your browsing experience.