Skip to main content
EU - Latvia (2019-2020)

EU - Latvia (2019-2020)


Latvia joined the European Union 1st January 2014 and it has been a member of the Schengen area since 21st December 2017.

Latvia is a parliamentary republic with a head of government - the Prime Minister - who chooses the council of ministers and a head of state - the President - who has a largely ceremonial role and nominates the prime minister. The government remains subject to Parliament's approval throughout each term. The country is subdivided into 110 one-level municipalities and 9 cities. These have their own city councils and municipal administrations.

There are 8 members of the European Parliament from Latvia.