Skip to main content
Daphne Caruana Galizia Prize for Journalism

Daphne Caruana Galizia Prize for Journalism


Daphne Caruana Galizia was a Maltese writer, blogger and anti-corruption activist, who reported on political events in Malta. In particular, she focused on investigative journalism, reporting on government corruption,allegations of money laundering and organized crime. She was killed in a car bomb explosion on 16 October 2017. In October 2021, the European Parliament started awarding "The Daphne Caruana Galizia Prize for Journalism" on a yearly basis.

The first winner is the Pegasus project coordinated by the Forbidden Stories Consortium .Forbidden Stories is a consortium of journalists whose mission is to continue the investigations of murdered, imprisoned or threatened journalists. Since its inception in 2017, Forbidden Stories and its partners have pursued the work of Daphne Caruana Galizia, but also of journalists murdered for their investigations into environmental crimes or Mexican cartels.

With more than 30 partner news organizations around the world and nearly 100 journalists, Forbidden Stories relies on a network that believes strongly in collaborative journalism. For its work, Forbidden Stories has won prestigious awards around the world, including the European Press Prize and the Georges Polk Award.

The D. C. Galizia Prize will distinguish every year outstanding journalism work based on the principles and values of the European Union. It is awarded for pieces on topics of interest resulting from in-depth journalism undertaken by professional journalists or teams of journalists. An independent jury composed of representatives of the press and civil society from the 27 European member states and representatives of the main European Associations of Journalism chose the winning entry.

The award ceremony will take place each year around the date Daphne Caruana Galizia was assassinated (16 October).

Related links


Event date09/05/2022