EU - Romania

Event date: 31/01/2018
EU - Romania

Romania, in southeast Europe, is dominated by the Carpathian mountains in the north and centre of the country while the main feature in the south is the vast Danube valley which becomes a delta as it approaches the Black Sea.

Romania is EU member country since 1 January 2007. There are 32 members of the European Parliament from Romania.

Romania is a semi-presidential republic with a head of government - the prime minster - and a head of state - the president. Executive functions are held by both government and the president. The country is divided into 41 counties and the municipality of Bucharest. Each county is administered by a county council, responsible for local affairs, and a prefect responsible for administering national affairs at county level.

The most important sectors of Romania’s economy in 2016 were industry (25.7 %), wholesale and retail trade, transport, accommodation and food services (20.2 %) and public administration, defence, education, human health and social work activities (11.7 %).

News history

MEPs discuss the threats to the rule of law by the Romanian justice system reform during a debate in plenary session in Strasbourg

Show only related media