Skip to content

EU - Netherlands

Event date: 12/04/2018

EU - Netherlands

The Netherlands is a founding member of the European Union.

The Netherlands is a member of the eurozone since 1 January 1999 and of the Schengen area since 26 March 1995.

The Netherlands is a parliamentary constitutional monarchy with a head of government - the prime minister - and a head of state - the monarch. There are 26 members of the European Parliament from the Netherlands.

News history

Mark Rutte, Dutch Prime Minister, gives a speech on the future of Europe during the plenary session, in Strasbourg

Show only related media

Managing cookies on Parliament's website

This site uses cookies. By accepting cookies you can optimise your browsing experience.