Skip to content

Preparation of the EE2019 Presidential Debate: draw of the speaking order, the place of the lead candidates and draw of the topics to be debated

Event date: 03/04/2019

Acquisition options

Shotlist content:

The European Broadcasting Union (EBU) will hold a 'Spitzenkandidate' TV debate, in other words, a live television Eurovision debate between candidates for the presidency of the European Commission, on May 15th at the European Parliament in Brussels. Two TV moderators that will host the debate night drew the speaking order and the place of the lead candidates. Numbers attributed to the 6 candidates: 1 Nico CUÉ, European Left (EL) / 2 Ska KELLER, European Green Party (EGP) / 3 Jan ZAHRADIL, Alliance of Conservatives and Reformists in Europe (ACRE) / 4 Margrethe VESTAGER, Alliance of Liberals and Democrats for Europe (ALDE) / 5 Manfred WEBER, European People’s Party (EPP) / 6 Frans TIMMERMANS, Party of European Socialists (PES). A speaking order had been pre-determined, meaning the candidates will express themselves as follows: Order of appearance on stage & of opening statements: 1 / 2 / 3 / 4 / 5 / 6 and order for the 3 thematic discussions.

Managing cookies on Parliament's website

This site uses cookies. By accepting cookies you can optimise your browsing experience.