Skip to content

Delors Commission

Event date: 11/07/2019

Delors Commission

​​​​​​​The Delors Commission was the administration of Jacques Delors, the eighth President of the European Commission.

Delors presided over the European Commission for three terms (though the last one lasted for around a year). The first term lasted from 1985 to 1988, the second until 1992 and the final one until 1994, making Delors the longest serving president.

It was the only Commission to serve three times, and Delors served five two-year terms. The third Commission was the first Commission of the European Union, the Maastricht Treaty having come into force in 1993.



News history