New European Parliament (2024-2029)

New European Parliament (2024-2029)



A newly formed European Parliament emerged from the EU of June 2024 across the member states. 720 Members of the Parliament were elected by the European citizens. As the legislative powerhouse of the European Union, the Parliament and its Members will hold a pivotal role in shaping policies and making legislation that transcend borders, on a variety of issues ranging from climate action to economic strength in order to address the pressing global geopolitical challenges.

The European Parliament was officially constituted on Tuesday 16/7 in Strasbourg, following the European elections on 6-9 June. 

MEPs re-elected Roberta Metsola (EPP, MT) as President of the European Parliament until 2027, with 562 votes in the first round. Roberta Metsola won the election in the first round of voting, where she received an absolute majority of 562 votes cast out of 699 by secret paper ballot, among two candidates. She will continue to lead Parliament for the first two and a half years of the 10th legislative term.

MEPs elected 14 Vice-Presidents and five Quaestors, as established through rules 16, 17, and 18 of the EP Rules of Procedure. MEPs will also vote on the numerical composition of Parliament’s standing committees and subcommittees, based on a proposal from the Conference of Presidents (CoP). The decision on which MEPs go to each committee is taken by the political groups and the non-attached members (rules 212 and 216 of the Rules of Procedure). This is expected to be announced to plenary during the July session.

In its tenth term, the European Parliament will have 720 seats, 15 more than at the end of the previous legislature. 54% of MEPs are newly-elected (in 2019 the share of newcomers was 61%) and the share of women is 39% (it was 40% in 2019). Lena Schilling (Greens/EFA) from Austria (23 years old) is the youngest MEP, while Leoluca Orlando (Greens/EFA) from Italy (77 years old) is the oldest. The average age of MEPs is 50. At the beginning of the tenth term, there are eight political groups, one more than in the previous legislature. 33 MEPs remain non-attached.

Obdržíte aktualizace k této tématu

Přihlaste se, abyste byli upozorněni, když budou přidány nová média

Jak si přejete přijímat aktualizace?